More pudding please!

The French call the conglomerate rock of Riglos “poudinage” – after the similarities with a lumpy fruit pudding. For our second helping we head over to Le Pison for the route “Carnavalade” – the most sought after route on the imposing south west face.

image

Three “approach pitches”, which still manage to serve up the occasional testing bulge, lead to the main event – a 45m 7b pitch up a gently impending wall, peppered with lumps.

image

The difficulties are sustained rather than bouldery and Jake cruises the pitch in style. I even make a decent stab at it, with just one rest to get some life back into the arms – not bad as I was carrying the sack and had managed to jettison my chalk bag the  previous day.

Next comes a 45m 7a pitch which is my turn – this one is of similar steepness but consists of a series of bulges interspersed with rests – not really my style. A moment of weakness has me briefly grabbing some tat to make a clip, and then later I  take a whipper as a hold crumbles away in my hand, but otherwise the pitch goes uneventfully and we’re above half way with the hardest climbing below us – at least according to the topo. A really nasty move on a supposed 6b+ pitch slows progress and I find myself dynoing over a roof on the final “easy” pitch, but then the top is in reach and it’s time to admire the view of the distant pyrenees and the swooping vultures.

image

image

image

Leave a Reply

